ICS picks their Cannes favorites

After a long and sometimes heated deliberation, the ICS members that were present at the 66th Cannes Film Festival decided on their own set of awards, a few hours before the actual jury, headed by Steven Spielberg, will announce the big prizes on Sunday night. The panel followed the exact same rules and model as the official jury, including taking the opportunity to create a special category.

To recognize the many excellent child performances in Cannes this year (and it should be noted that this extended beyond the main competition), the ICS jury decided to create a special category this year, ‘The Kids of Cannes‘. The following performances will not be forgotten:

Pauline Burlet (Le Passé)

Elyes Aguis (Le Passé)

Jeanne Jestin (Le Passé)

Fantin Ravat (Jeune et Jolie)

Elve Lijbaart (Borgman)

Keita Ninomiya (Like Father, Like Son)

Shôgen Hwang (Like Father, Like Son)

In the ‘official’ categories, the following films were awarded:

Prix du Jury

The Immigrant (James Gray)

Best Screenplay

Le Passé (Asghar Farhadi, Massoumeh Lahidji)

Best Actor

Michael Douglas (Behind The Candelabra)

Best Director

Jim Jarmusch (Only Lovers Left Alive)

Best Actress a tie, decided after five rounds of voting

Marion Cotillard (The Immigrant)

Emmanuelle Seigner (Venus In Fur)

Grand Prix

A Touch Of Sin (Jia Zhang-ke)

Palme d’or a unanimous decision in the first round of voting

La Vie d’Adèle (Abdellatif Kechiche)